Driving while intoxicated (DWI) is a serious matter in Wise County Texas. If you drink alcoholic beverages and afterwards get in a vehicle to drive and are pulled over by police who suspect you are intoxicated, you may be arrested and tested for blood/alcohol level. A level of .08 or higher is considered a chargeable DWI offense.
Many small towns like Decatur, Texas are notorious for DWI, especially along Highway 287 where speeding significantly increases. Penalties for DWI conviction in Wise County can vary from 3-180 days in jail, a maximum fine of $2000, and suspension of a driver's license for up to a year for a first offense. The penalty can be doubled for a second offense. Three or more offenses becomes a felony with the possibility of up to 10 years in prison. If the intoxicated person is in an accident that causes injuries or death to others, penalties will seriously increase.
Texas has a rehabilitation program for those who have been convicted of DWI. It is a multimodal six-month program that includes substance abuse treatment, alternatives to drinking alcohol, victim awareness, medical effects and much more. This program is a critical step in getting a convicted DWI driver back into society as a law-abiding citizen.
Having your driver's license suspended for 90 days or more can be a tragedy. How will you get to work or school and run common everyday errands? In Texas, it is possible to get your license reinstated based on certain conditions. Once the proper amount of time has passed and all conditions are met have your attorney file for an ALR hearing.
Being charged with DWI in Wise County can be a serious matter to resolve, especially if you feel that you are innocent. If you or someone you know has been charged with a DWI, it is critical that you have an experienced criminal defense attorney who specializes in DWI law and your rights. Your attorney will make sure the facts are not exaggerated against you and fight to minimize the punishment if you are convicted.